Making her Own Way

She is a woman who only knows one language (English), but has traveled to over 23 countries.  Her name is Sherry Ott.  In my opinion Sherry Ott is by far the most interesting and unique Keables Chair Holder that Iolani has ever brought to its campus.  I personally think her likeability is due to the fact that she has gone against the norm of a 6-figure salary, and has made a career based upon her passion of traveling.

After seventeen years of living in the same house, I know for sure that my parents wish that they had followed their passions in life.  But just like many other Americans getting the best financially fit job is usually the number one priority.

It has always been a dream of mine to travel to foreign places, and I actually was able to start this dream last year when I traveled to Switzerland, Germany, and the Czech Republic.

Here is Sherry Ott’s picture of the Prague Astronomical Clock.
http://photography.ottsworld.com/Destinations/Europe/Czech-Republic/Prague/i-KcNdCqD/A

Here is my photo (I promise it is mine) of the Prague Astronomical Clock! It's so cool that we both went to the same place!

Here is my photo (I promise it is mine) of the Prague Astronomical Clock! It’s so cool that we both went to the same place!

 

Hearing and viewing the many stories and photos that Ms. Ott shared with us rekindled my passion for seeking out new places.  Her success in traveling for seven years has given me a reassurance that if traveling is what I want to do with my life, it is possible.

One of the reasons why I enjoy traveling is because I want to experience new cultures and try different foods.  The stories that Ms. Ott shared with us about how the women in the Middle East have to stay inside of their homes and wear hijabs is totally the opposite of what is expected of women in America.  Her photo of the lady making dough on the metal stove that was shaped like a rock made me think, “I wonder what that tasted like?” I am a food fanatic, and I know I would absolutely love trying the different dishes that each country has.  Stories and photos of things like these are what really get me excited about what is beyond America.

Ms. Ott shared also shared about the roles of women.  The women’s roles are all very similar because it was usually the women who  do all the cooking, who were forced to stay inside, and the ones who tend to the children.  Although America has its own issues on gender equality, I am so grateful as Ms. Ott said, “lucky” to have been born here.

Sherry Ott has inspired me to take any opportunity to travel to foreign places, and that nothing, not even knowing how to speak only in English can stop me!

Leave a Reply

